Compared
AI answering services for contractors, compared
Most AI answering services for trades cost $49 to $299 a month and charge by minutes or calls; human receptionist services cost several times more. The right one depends on how many calls you miss and whether you want a flat price.
We make Cakewalk, so judge us accordingly. Every other line is from that company's own pricing page on October 21, 2026; follow the link and check before you buy.
| Service | Price | What's included | Trial / terms | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cakewalk AI | $149/mo, first month free from its first answered call | Unlimited calls, no per-minute charges | First month free; no contract | Trades who want every missed call answered for one flat price, and a website that brings enquiries |
| Wakeman AI | $49, $149 or $399/mo | 100, 500 or 1,500 minutes a month | 14 days free, no card; 30-day money-back | Trades who want a quick self-serve setup, with Jobber |
| Rosie AI | $49, $149 or $299/mo | 250, 1,000 or 2,000 minutes a month | 7-day free trial; cancel any time | Small businesses on a tight budget with light call volume |
| Goodcall AI | $79, $129 or $299/mo | 100, 500 or 2,000 unique callers a month, then 15–79¢ each | Free demo agent; pay when you connect a number | Businesses with many repeat callers |
| Smith.ai AI | Free, $150 or $500/mo | 25, 75 or 300 calls a month, then $1.67–3 a call | Free plan; month to month | Low call volumes, or businesses that want a free plan to start |
| Ruby Human receptionists | $250 to $1,725/mo | 50 to 500 minutes a month | Not stated | Businesses that want a live person on every call and can pay for it |
| Avoca AI | Not published | Calls, texts, chat, outbound campaigns, call scoring | Not stated | Larger and multi-location shops on ServiceTitan |
How to choose
- Count the calls you miss. Minute and call allowances run out fastest in a cold snap or after a storm, exactly when the calls matter most. Check the overage rate.
- Check what happens to the call. You want the caller's name, number, address and the problem, sent to you straight away.
- Make sure it screens sales calls, or you'll pay for robocalls.
- Try it from another phone before you switch it on, so you hear exactly what your customers will.
Hear it answer as your business. First month free from its first answered call, then $149/mo.
See how it worksQuestions
What is the best AI answering service for contractors?
It depends on your calls. For light volume, a minutes-based plan like Rosie's $49 tier is cheapest; for trades that miss a lot of calls in busy spells, a flat-price unlimited plan like Cakewalk's avoids overage charges. Larger shops on ServiceTitan often look at Avoca.
How much does an AI answering service cost?
From free (Smith.ai's 25-call plan) to $500 a month for AI services, based on each company's pricing page on October 21, 2026. Human receptionists like Ruby start at $250 a month for 50 minutes.
Is an AI answering service better than a human receptionist?
AI services answer instantly, 24/7, for a fraction of the price, and are good at taking job details. A human receptionist handles unusual calls better. Many trades use AI for missed and after-hours calls.
Sources
More guides: Google Local Services Ads: a plain guide for contractors · Voicemail greetings for contractors: examples you can use today · How to get more Google reviews for a trade business · How to get your business recommended by ChatGPT